• Get in touch
The Leap Non-Severity Scale

My scoring system for critical illness:

The Leap Non-severity scale:


3  Unable to speak profanity or make profane gestures.

2  Slurs profanity, exposes genitalia or makes confusing lewd gestures.

1  Speaks profanity clearly, but with the same poor sentence structure he or she uses for English.  Recognizable, but not very interesting.

0  Profanity used like poetry, flowing and uninterrupted.  Suggests physical acts neither legal nor, in many instances, actually possible.  Elaborate gestures.


3  Unable to smoke unless actually on fire.

2  Asks for cigarette, but realizes he cannot hold cigarette or inhale smoke.

1  Smokes in room, with oxygen on high flow and friends smoking for company.

0  Wanders parking lot still partially attached to backboard, asking everyone for cigarette.


3  So ill or impaired that behavior can be controlled without Droperidol.

2  Threatens doctor and staff with death, but can’t actually move due to pain or disability.

1  Points to each staff member individually and says “I know where you live and I’ll kill you” as police officers hold him down on bed.

0  Actually attacks staff member.


0 – 3:  Can be discharged to jail or home without actually being examined.

4 – 6:  Probably will require evaluation, although odds of dying still relatively low.

6 – 9:  Most likely has real injury or illness.  However, requires diligent re-evaluation using Leap Non-severity Scale (LNSS) so that patient can be down-graded as he or she improves or becomes increasingly annoying.

Share this:
About the author



2009-01-22 02:59:33 Reply



2009-01-22 03:10:12 Reply


Thank you! Feel free to pass it on…


2009-01-28 05:34:37 Reply



2009-04-05 05:18:00 Reply

I’ll bet you could get a research grant for this one. Excellent!


2009-04-16 19:37:49 Reply


Marleen Gainer

2013-04-13 17:49:03 Reply

Hey there, You have performed an unbelievable employment. I’ll surely digg it and personally recommend to my mates. I’m confident they are going to be benefited from this internet site.

Amado Czachorowski

2013-05-20 02:22:47 Reply

These templates appearance awesome. I have an incredible idea for one particular of them.

stryker hip replacement

2013-05-24 23:11:58 Reply

Why Read? from your Large Examine Weblog


2013-05-25 12:28:03 Reply

Thanks. It is incredibly great.

Leave a Comment